Allen Reiser - Recordings


drawing of Beethoven's piano

    • Label: Signal Hill Music Works SHMW-CD-002
    • Released: June, 2009
    • Total Time: 63:54

    This CD will be of particular interest to Piano Teachers and intermediate students who may be interested in teaching or learning Sonatinas or Sonatas from the Classical era. ELEVEN of the CD's nineteen tracks are listed in the Toronto Conservatory Syllabus, and FIFTEEN of the CD's nineteen tracks are listed in the Conservatory Canada Syllabus. The recording contains the following works:

    • Viennese Sonatina No. 1 in C major, K 439B Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
    • Sonatina in A minor, Op. 88, No. 3 Friedrich Kuhlau
    • Sonatina in D major, Op. 36, No. 6 Muzio Clementi
    • Sonata in G major, Op. 5, No. 3 Johann Christian Bach
    • Sonatina in A major, Op. 59, No. 1 Friedrich Kuhlau
    • Sonata (Divertimento) in D major, Hob. XVI/4 Franz Joseph Haydn
    • Sonata No. 5 in B flat major, Op. 4, No. 5 (also known as Sonatina in B flat major, Op. 38, No. 2) Muzio Clementi
    • Sonata in G minor, Op. 49, No. 1 Ludwig van Beethoven


    (From Impromptu - September, 2009 - Janice Dahlberg, reviewer)

    "A New Classical CD from Calgary"

    "One will hear several musical gems performed with grace, sensitivity and impeccable classical style when listeneing to this disc."

    "An academic plus which makes this CD a "must have" is Reiser's witty editorial comments, historical and otherwise, found inside the case. The biographical data on the composers are well researched and a pleasure to read."

    "Allen Reiser delivers this "moodful" and imaginative music with fresh insight, elegance, and style - each work and every movement is an aural delight. It is a classic listening resource for the discerning pianist."

    (From APTA News & Views - Fall issue XVII No. 5, 2009 - Dale Wheeler, reviewer)

    "CD Review"

    "Allen Reiser has given us another wonderful recording. His latest offering is entitled Sonatinas and Little Sonatas."

    "Before I discuss specifics, I must say that this CD has given me one of the rare 'Aha, yes, that's exactly right' listening moments in my life."

    "There is something to be said for directness and simplicity. He 'just plays' these gems .... wonderfully."

    "Illuminating liner notes in English and French are a must-read for anyone teaching or performing these works"

    This CD may be ordered directly from the artist by clicking on ORDER FORM.

Biography Publications Recordings Order Form Concert Dates Studio